The 2024 iHeartRadio Music Awards has ushered in a new era of recognition for the global phenomenon that is K-pop. On January 18, the prestigious music awards revealed this year’s nominees, unveiling not only the most-played artists across iHeartRadio stations and the app but also introducing three exciting new K-pop categories. The addition of K-Pop Artist of the Year, K-Pop Song of the Year, and Best New Artist (K-Pop) underscores the genre’s undeniable impact on the international music scene.

Leading the nominations charge is the multitalented Jungkook of BTS, who secured an impressive five nods as a soloist.

His solo achievements include nominations for K-Pop Artist of the Year, K-Pop Song of the Year for the captivating ‘Seven’, Best Music Video for both ‘Seven’ and ‘3D’, and Favorite Debut Album for ‘GOLDEN’. In an additional testament to BTS‘s global influence, the group’s dedicated fandom, ARMY, earned a well-deserved nomination for Best Fan Army.
The competition in the K-pop categories is fierce, with nominees representing the diverse and dynamic landscape of the genre. K-Pop Artist of the Year sees formidable contenders such as (G)I-DLE, BTS’s Jungkook, NCT DREAM, SEVENTEEN, and Stray Kids vying for the coveted title.
The battle for K-Pop Song of the Year includes chart-topping tracks from ATEEZ, FIFTY FIFTY, Stray Kids, NewJeans and Jungkook’s soulful collaboration with Latto on ‘Seven’. The Best New Artist (K-Pop) category introduces fresh faces to the scene, with BOYNEXTDOOR, NewJeans, RIIZE, xikers, and ZEROBASEONE all eyeing the prestigious award.
Apart from the newly introduced K-pop categories, additional nominations have been secured by artists including (G)I-DLE, BLACKPINK’s Jisoo, ATEEZ, FIFTY FIFTY, and BTS members Jungkook, V, and J-Hope across various other award categories.
(G)I-DLE, known for their dynamic performances and chart-topping hits, is vying for the prestigious title of Duo/Group of the Year. The social media buzz is palpable as fans eagerly await the outcome in categories where their favorite artists have secured nominations.

In the Best Music Video category, which is socially voted, Jungkook of BTS showcases his versatility with two nominations—’3D’ featuring Jack Harlow and the soulful collaboration ‘Seven’ featuring Latto. BLACKPINK’s Jisoo also graces the list with her visually stunning video for ‘FLOWER’.
Fan engagement takes center stage in the socially voted Best Fan Army category, where ATEEZ’s devoted ATINY and the formidable BTS ARMY vie for supremacy. The socially voted Favorite Debut Album category features the solo ventures of BTS members Jungkook and V, with ‘GOLDEN’ and ‘Layover’ respectively, reflecting the individual artistry within the powerhouse group.
FIFTY FIFTY’s infectious hit ‘Cupid’ (Twin Version) secures a nomination in the TikTok Bop of the Year category, emphasizing the impact of K-pop on the popular social media platform. Lastly, in the socially voted Favorite On Screen category, J-Hope of BTS captivates with his mesmerizing presence in ‘j-hope IN THE BOX’.
With the 2024 iHeartRadio Music Awards set to air live from Los Angeles on April 1 at 8 p.m. ET, fans can anticipate a thrilling celebration of music where K-pop takes center stage, showcasing its global resonance and influence.

function loadGtagEvents(isGoogleCampaignActive) { if (!isGoogleCampaignActive) { return; } var id = document.getElementById('toi-plus-google-campaign'); if (id) { return; } (function(f, b, e, v, n, t, s) { t = b.createElement(e); t.async = !0; t.defer = !0; t.src = v; = 'toi-plus-google-campaign'; s = b.getElementsByTagName(e)[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(t, s); })(f, b, e, '', n, t, s); };

function loadSurvicateJs(allowedSurvicateSections = []){ const section = window.location.pathname.split('/')[1] const isHomePageAllowed = window.location.pathname === '/' && allowedSurvicateSections.includes('homepage')

if(allowedSurvicateSections.includes(section) || isHomePageAllowed){ (function(w) { var s = document.createElement('script'); s.src=""; s.async = true; var e = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; e.parentNode.insertBefore(s, e); })(window); }


window.TimesApps = window.TimesApps || {}; var TimesApps = window.TimesApps; TimesApps.toiPlusEvents = function(config) { var isConfigAvailable = "toiplus_site_settings" in f && "isFBCampaignActive" in f.toiplus_site_settings && "isGoogleCampaignActive" in f.toiplus_site_settings; var isPrimeUser = window.isPrime; if (isConfigAvailable && !isPrimeUser) { loadGtagEvents(f.toiplus_site_settings.isGoogleCampaignActive); loadFBEvents(f.toiplus_site_settings.isFBCampaignActive); loadSurvicateJs(f.toiplus_site_settings.allowedSurvicateSections); } else { var JarvisUrl=""; window.getFromClient(JarvisUrl, function(config){ if (config) { loadGtagEvents(config?.isGoogleCampaignActive); loadFBEvents(config?.isFBCampaignActive); loadSurvicateJs(config?.allowedSurvicateSections); } }) } }; })( window, document, 'script', );

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *